20131016 ROW80 Check-in

ROW80Logocopy

So far, this week has gone well and mostly according to plan. The biggest change is this blog. I’ve had kathresemckee.wordpress.com for a couple of years, using it to “play” with Worpress. I’ve dedicated this blog to ROW80 status updates and writerly musings because I want my author blog, http://www.kathresemckee.com, to be about building connections with readers. In other words, my author blog should be about platform, and though I dearly love my writer friends, they aren’t the only audience I want to reach.

Sunday – Wednesday GOALS:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in. DONE
  • Wednesday’s ROW80 Check-in. DONE
  • Write one blog post for author blog. I’ve written one post to be published on Friday.
  • Revamped this blog to carry ROW80 updates. EXTRA
  • Visiting several of your blogs and leaving comments. DONE
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)Doing better at this. IN PROGRESS
    • Twitter (4X/day) NO
    • Pinterest (pin photos for some future blog posts that are creative commons) NO
  • Continue Book 2 outline & switch off with an idea I have for a short novel. IN PROGRESS
  • Computer recovery. ACER wants my computer for research. Sending it to factory today.
  • Continue work on plan for consolidating my old momsread.com blog into my author blog.
  • Write post for christsreflections blog for Monday, 10/14. Posting today.
  • Make more progress learning Scrivener. IN PROGRESS

Thursday – Saturday GOALS:

  • Write one regular post for my author blog for next Tuesday.
  • Write one post for christsreflections blog for next Monday.
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)Doing better at this.
    • Twitter (4X/day)
    • Pinterest (pin photos for some future blog posts that are creative commons)
    • Write a ROW80 Status update for Sunday.
    • Continue Book 2 outline & switch off with an idea I have for a short novel.
    • Continue work on plan for consolidating my old momsread.com blog into my author blog.

How’s your week going on your ROW80 goals?

4 thoughts on “20131016 ROW80 Check-in

  1. I want to name a character “Kathrese” now. That is such an awesome name!

    I also have two blogs, but I separate them into updates/interviews/etc and a fiction blog. It works for me. Then again, my biggest strength as far as reaching readers is concerned is social media.

    One thing I’ve come to terms with is that I have a network that mixes readers, fans, friends, writers, consultants, and an array of other connections into melange that defies any venn diagram. I have to remind myself not to get too cocky, even when my follower count began to be measured in tens of thousands, that these are not all FANS. These are CONNECTIONS.

    • So true. Part of my problem was that the ROW80 posts were the only posts to what was intended to be my author/fiction blog. Boring. This way, I won’t be fooling myself into thinking that I’m “blogging.” Haha My name is the result of an epic argument between my parents before I was born; one wanted Katherine, and the other wanted Therese. Once they coined my name, my mom refused to let anyone shorten it. There you are. I was destined to be an author. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Comments are closed.