20131023 ROW80 Check-in

ROW80Logocopy

Using the Myers-Briggs personality traits, I’ve finally pegged my major characters. Knowing their inherent strengths and weaknesses has helped me develop juicy ideas for conflict and growth. I recommend this process; I read about it first in Jeff Gerke’s book, Plot vs. Character.

Jeff also wrote The First 50 Pages. I love that book, too.

Sunday – Wednesday PROGRESS:

  • Wednesday’s ROW80 Check-in. DONE
  • Write one blog “regular” post for author blog. NOT YET Start one for Friday. DONE
  • Visiting several of your blogs and leaving comments. DONE
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) Doing better at this.
    • Twitter (3X/day) Doing better.
    • Pinterest (pin photos for some future blog posts that are creative commons)
  • Continue Book 2 outline YES, but not so much on a secondary idea.
  • Continue work on plan for consolidating my old momsread.com blog into my author blog. I’VE decided to defer this until December.
  • Write post for christsreflections blog for Monday, 10/21 – Missed the Monday deadline, published early this morning: Jesus Welcomes the Profane.
  • Make more progress learning Scrivener.  I am loving it.

Thursday – Saturday GOALS:

  • Write one regular post for my author blog for Tuesday of next week..
  • Write one post for christsreflections blog for Wednesday of next week.
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) Doing better at this.
    • Twitter (3X/day)
    • Pinterest (pin photos for some future blog posts that are creative commons) DONE
    • Write a ROW80 Status update for Sunday. HERE IT IS.
    • Continue Book 2 outline & switch off with an idea I have for a short novel.

One other thing that doesn’t show in my ROW80 goals is doing at least one critique per week for someone in my critique group. As I’m not submitting anything, this is more about paying it forward until I do need to submit chapters for critiques.

I meant to mention that I wrote and published my second weekly Friday Favorites post. I really like this idea because it shares who I am and what I like without me rambling on and on.

How are you doing on your ROW80 goals?

2 thoughts on “20131023 ROW80 Check-in

  1. goals seem to be going well – I had seen both those videos and the carrie one was very clever in its set up – as for the cats why don’t these actresses read the script and keep away from dark scary places:)

    all the best for rest of week:)

    • I loved the cats video because I recognized so many (too many) of the scenes. And, you know, when the music starts sounding that way, don’t walk into the dark, creepy place. Thanks for the encouragement!

Comments are closed.