20131027 ROW80 Check-in

ROW80Logocopy

Can’t believe it’s time to check in already. I’ve been preparing for NaNoWriMo so I should probably go register. What do you think?

I’ve been thinking about my characters’ “knots,” those problems they may not even realize they have that they must defeat…or else. One of my characters is going to suffer from PTSD from her experiences in Book One. So, I’m researching that topic because I want to get it right.

This type of planning enriches the outline quite a bit. I wish I’d known to do this in Book One, but eventually, I did accomplish the same thing by instinct. The process took longer and required more revision time. I’m hoping that all this “stewing” time up front will trim a lot of time off the back end of the project. We’ll see.

Thursday – Saturday PROGRESS:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in. DONE
  • Write one blog “regular” post for author blog. Completed one for Friday.
  • Visiting several of your blogs and leaving comments. DONE
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) Doing better at this.
    • Twitter (3X/day) Doing better.
    • Pinterest (pin photos for some future blog posts that are creative commons)
  • Continue Book 2 outline YES
  • Write post for christsreflections blog for Monday, 10/28 – It’s ready to roll out.
  • Outlined 8 chapters in Scrivener. According to my usual chapters in Book One (about 2500 words on average), this means I’m ready to roll for the first 20,000 words of NaNoWriMo.

Sunday – Wednesday GOALS:

  • Complete Friday post for author blog and one other post.
  • Write one post for christsreflections blog for Monday of next week.
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)
    • Twitter (3X/day)
    • Pinterest (pin photos for some future blog posts that are creative commons)
    • Write a ROW80 Status update for Wednesday.
    • Continue Book 2 outline; at least 12 chapters.

One other thing that doesn’t show in my ROW80 goals is doing at least one critique per week for someone in my critique group. Paying it forward.

Friday-Favorites-3-300x225I wrote and published my third weekly Friday Favorites post.

There’s stuff about The Screwtape Letters, Graveyard Humor, Shooting Skeet with Tanks, and a huge skeleton in Texas. There’s also a link to truthful tags for major brands.

How are you doing on your ROW80 goals?

4 thoughts on “20131027 ROW80 Check-in

  1. Looks like you’re making great progress! I hope your stewing before writing pays off the way you want. I look forward to hearing about it. Good luck with NaNo!

    • Thanks! Actually, I’m probably over thinking it. Like a battle plan, an outline rarely survives intact. But it boosts my confidence to have some ideas in my back pocket.

  2. It sounds like you are well on track, Kathrese. Don’t regret too much what you learned the first time through. You learned how to ease the path this time, and that’s good!

    I’m not doing NaNo, but I’ve committed to writing every day without editing during November–sort of a personal NaNo. I’m still recovering from some health issues that decimated October, so I’m shocked to look at the calendar. Have a great week!

    • Glad to hear you’re getting better and planning to write. I set a few chapters up today for NaNo. The hard part is thinking through the characters’ motivations. But you know that no mater what you plan, as soon as you start writing, the characters are going to decide to do things differently. I’m just the director, but the actors have minds of their own. Thanks for the encouragement.

Comments are closed.