20131106 ROW80 Check-in

ROW80Logocopy

Is there one word that you continually misspell? Mine is sergeant. If I skip a few days between uses, I have to look it up. Drives me crazy! I finally wrote it on a sticky note and stuck it to the desk beneath my keyboard.

I feel like I’m cheating on a test every time I have to peek. Maybe I’m just too much of a perfectionist, expecting total recall of all spelling facts. But spelling facts are squishy; spelling is still variable and unpredictable, no matter how we try to tame our written words using dictionaries and thesauri.

Besides, you have to choose sides if your primary language is English. Will you choose the British way or the American way? Speaking as an American who reads more than her fair share of British authors, it’s tough to make the adjustment. I prefer grey to gray. It’s prettier.

Don’t roll your eyes at me.

How is everyone out there in NaNoWriMo land? If you want to join me as one of my writing buddies, my handle is go2thebook. Go, go, go!

Sunday РWednesday  PROGRESS:

  • Wednesday’s¬†ROW80 check-in. DONE
  • Comment on other’s blogs. DONE
  • Complete Friday post for author blog. Not started.
  • Draft a post for Christ’s Reflections blog for two weeks from now. Working.
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) DONE
    • Twitter (3X/day) Almost
  • NaNoWriMo – average 2,000 words/day for 10,000 additional words by next Saturday 11/8. My average has been 1,067. I had a surge of 2500+ yesterday so maybe there’s hope. My current total is 6,388 words.
  • Critique for someone in my critique group. DONE

Thursday – Saturday Goals:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in.
  • Comment on other’s blogs.
  • Complete the blog post for Friday and fire up another one for the following week.
  • Social media
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)
    • Twitter (3X/day)
  • Continue NaNoWriMo – The goal is still 2,000 words per day or 10,000 words/ by Saturday, 11/8.

How are you doing on your ROW80 goals?

4 thoughts on “20131106 ROW80 Check-in

  1. There are several words I habitually misspell, especially those with double letters. Right now, I’m looking at the word “misspell” and hoping that the fact that there’s no red squiggly line means I spelled it right.

    • I have a love/hate relationship with the red squiggly lines. I’m happy they exist, but unhappy when they are mistaken. I’ve discovered that the red squiggly lines have an incomplete lexicon so, at times, they attack perfectly valid words. Augghh! Thanks for commenting.

  2. hopeless at spelling and fight software all the time as it is constantly trying to get me to spell American English – compounding dyspraxia and software I read so many books by american authors that sometimes I don’t notice the spell check leading me down the garden path- then I get knuckles rapped by friend from forever/editor:( anyway goals seem to be doing well – nano you’re ahead that has to be good – I’m about a day or maybe two ahead now (havent put in todays counts yet (alberta ross if you want another buddy)

    all the best with coming week:)

    • Of course I want another writing buddy, and I’m really jealous of your current word count. My handle is go2thebook. Look in your NaNo mail for a buddy request.
      Software is evil, for sure, leading us astray and corrupting English on both sides of the world. Thanks for your comments. The battle of the words continues. All the best!

Comments are closed.