20131113 ROW80 Check-in

ROW80Logocopy

How do you “cheat” at NaNoWriMo?Yesterday evening, I was tired and sick and sick and tired, and I was certain that adding more to the story would be disastrous. But I was 800 words away from my goal for the day!

What to do? What to do? Copy names from the phone book? Entries from the encyclopedia? You know–sort of a filibuster. But I had a brain wave and decided to journal in the voice of my MC about what she “thought” of the plot so far.

I let her write whatever popped into her head without checking her spelling or grammar. Believe me, she thought of stuff I hadn’t. That was an easy and valuable exercise. I’ll use some of that interior dialogue in my story, and I’ll let her “journal” again soon.

If you are participating in NaNoWriMo, tell me how you’re doing?

Sunday – Wednesday  PROGRESS:

  • Wednesday’s ROW80 check-in. DONE
  • Comment on other’s blogs. DONE
  • Draft Friday post for author blog by Wednesday. IN PROGRESS
  • Draft a post for Christ’s Reflections blog for Monday, 11/18. IN PROGRESS
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) YES
    • Twitter (3X/day) NOT AS MUCH.
  • NaNoWriMo – average 2,183 words/day for 27,000 total words by next Saturday, 11/16.  I am about 1,000 words off of my intended pace at this writing.
  • Critique for someone in my critique group on Monday. NOT YET; however, I critiqued a flash fiction piece for someone else and wrote two reviews on Tuesday.

Thursday – Saturday GOALS:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in.
  • Comment on other’s blogs.
  • Complete the blog post for Friday and fire up another one for the following week.
  • Social media
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)
    • Twitter (3X/day)
  • Continue NaNoWriMo – 27,000 total words by next Saturday, 11/16.

How are you doing on your ROW80 goals?

6 thoughts on “20131113 ROW80 Check-in

  1. There are all kinds of ways to legitimately add to the word count lol! Although I separate my MAIN notes in a separate file, I have a few notes I keep at the bottom such as spellings of names or odd terms I made up for my SciFi world. I also make a couple of notes like “…next he’s going to follow her, and act like it’s a coincidence when they run into each other.” so I remember where I was heading.

    The weird thing is, I’ll delete those notes when I don’t need them anymore. So, at the end of the night I’ll have 16,000 words, then the next day I’ll add 500, then delete my 100 word note, then add some more. Besides that, I also have a few “addendums” that might get inserted into the story at some point, or might simply act as my own guide and inspiration.

    • I have a separate file for notes, too, that contains character notes, plot notes, research, etc. I’m in dire need of a current master list of character and place names. My notes are seriously out of date. Thanks for your comments!

  2. I’ve got way more words than I ever have before. I can only attribute it to an outrageous amount of planning. I’ve already hit my monthly target, and then some. That and the hamster in my brain that’s loaded with a combination of an overdose of amphetamines and crack.

  3. I love that idea. I am such a pantser that my main character is pretty much running the show. Sometimes another character will push forward with something to say, too. The hardest part for me is just writing and locking my inner editor away. It’s hard. Wishing you all the best!

    • My editor definitely needs some time in the penalty box for holding so I can get on with the game already. haha Thanks for your comments.

      PS – I only watch hockey during the Winter Olympics.

Comments are closed.