20131124 ROW80 Check-in

ROW80Logocopy

 

You know that streak of reality that hits when you’re making good progress that kills your momentum?

That’s the one. 

It all started with a call from College Student Daughter who had to come home for a few days because of strep throat. She’d been to the clinic, and she had her antibiotic so… College Student Daughter drove home and collapsed on the couch for a couple of days.

The evening College Student Daughter leaves home, I get a sore throat. On top of my asthma. Then, High School Daughter gets a sore throat, but her test shows negative. Three doctor visits  and three days (yes, three) later, both High School Daughter and I are on antibiotics. Her diagnosis required two separate tests. Another day passes and Only Son has to miss school due to…strep throat. Another doctor visit and more antibiotics.

All of the local Walgreen pharmacists greet me by name these days.

NaNoWriMo is No Mo. I’m not lamenting too much because I’ve gained a great start on Book Two. The chapters I’ve written should stand the test of time and still be recognizable after revisions. The kick in the behind to start writing already(!!) was just what–wait for it–just what the doctor ordered. hehe

 

If you are still in the NaNoWriMo race, best wishes! I’ll see you on the other side.

Sunday – Wednesday  GOALS:

  • Wednesday’s ROW80 check-in.
  • Comment on other’s blogs. 
  • Draft Friday post for author blog by Wednesday. ALREADY DONE
  • Draft a post for Christ’s Reflections blog for Monday, 11/25. IN PROGRESS
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) 
    • Twitter (3X/day) 
  • BOOK TWO: 2,500 words by Saturday, 11/30.
  • BOOK ONE: Begin search for editor.
  • Draft a Momsread author interview post.
  • Critique for someone in my critique group on Monday. I hope to do two critiques.

Thursday – Saturday PROGRESS:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in. DONE
  • Comment on other’s blogs. DONE
  • Complete the blog post for Friday and fire up another one for the following week. DONE
  • Social media
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)
    • Twitter (3X/day)
  • Continue NaNoWriMo – 27,000 total words by next Saturday, 11/16.

How are you doing on your ROW80 goals?

4 thoughts on “20131124 ROW80 Check-in

  1. Oh, I hope you feel much better soon. I started NaNo last year and didn’t make it, but I was also glad I participated because I made some really good progress. It looks like you did as well, so be happy with that.

    Best wishes, and have a lovely rest of the round!

  2. Ugh! I hope you’re all recovered soon. I had a similar experience with NaNo last year – lost a week to illness and ended up with only 22k words. But it was still a pretty good experience (NaNo, not the illness). I’m glad you still got a good start on your book – that’s the important part anyway. Have a great week!

Comments are closed.