20131211 ROW80 Check-in

December 11 – Happy International Mountain Day! Mountain

It’s that time of year again–International Mountain Day, a day when the United Nations General Assembly urges us to: “…to organize events at all levels [their words, not mine] …to highlight [really?] the importance of sustainable mountain development.” According to the U.N., “…mountains have gained an increasingly high profile….” Again, really?

Who writes this stuff? ROW80Logocopy Did the writer really mean to imply that mountains are growing taller? My tax dollars are hard at work, bankrolling the U.N. copywriters.

Blogging Like Crazy

I finished  Searching the Scriptures in Vain – Part 2 And I posted a promised author interview for Tom Blubaugh on my momsread.com blog. Sometimes, I think I keep that blog around just to experiment with HTML.  It looks nice, if I do say so myself. The author interview post has multiple column arrangements, and it looks like a magazine spread.

Sunday – Wednesday  PROGRESS:

  • Wednesday’s ROW80 check-in. DONE
  • Comment on other’s blogs. DONE
  • Draft Friday post for author blog by Wednesday. DONE
  • Publish Part II on Christ’s Reflections. DONE
  • Draft a post for Christ’s Reflections blog for Monday, 12/16. IN PROGRESS
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) YES
    • Twitter (3X/day) ALMOST
  • Critique for a member of my critique group on Monday. NOT YET
  • Continue work on business plan. YES
  • Complete 500 word/day on WIP. That’s 1500 words by Wednesday. HALF DONE

Thursday – Saturday GOALS:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in.
  • Comment on other’s blogs.
  • Complete the blog post for Friday and fire up another one for the following week.
  • Social media
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)
    • Twitter (3X/day)
  • Continue work on business plan.
  • Complete 5,000 words on WIP by Saturday night, 12/14. I’m going to aim big even though I know my college girl is coming home for break in a couple of days.

How did you spend International Mountain Day?

7 thoughts on “20131211 ROW80 Check-in

  1. I love the UN description….someone was having fun!

    It looks like you were and plan to be busy, but hopefully not too busy scaling the high peaks of your goals to enjoy the returning girl. May you reach the summit of joy and accomplishment in the coming days!

    • My word count and goals always takes a tremendous hit when college girl is home, but I don’t care.

      I’m ambivalent about the UN copy. Would it be better if the writer’s word choices were intentional and unprofessional? Or would it be better if their terrible puns were unintentional and pathetic? Either way, the text tickled my funny bone. Thanks for your comments.

  2. I think it would be sad if the UN text were unintentional. That person may have a sense of humor or may be bored and hoping to be fired. Your goals are well organized, but 5,000 words in 3-4 days makes me gasp, especially with college girl at home. I hope you are able to enjoy each moment AND achieve your writing goals with a sense of accomplishment in the coming week.

    • Actually, my goal was to reach 5,000 words total for the week. Thankfully, it looks like I’ll make it. The college girl is sooooo tired; she’s slept half of the time she’s been home so far. How glad I am that taking final exams is behind me! Thanks for your comments.

  3. Pingback: Holiday Weaving: ROW80 Update, December 12/16/13 | shanjeniah

Comments are closed.