20131218 ROW80 Check-in

Making Word Count Is Like Doing Crunches

By stockimages on freedigitalphots.net ID-100202589

By stockimages on freedigitalphots.net ID-100202589

Making word count is like doing crunches; it’s hard work, but it gets easier. At least that’s what I tell myself. The girl in the photo looks far too chipper and bears no resemblance to myself. I don’t smile like that until I make work count.

I’ve set a goal of writing 5,000 words a week since that will put me close to finishing in late spring, 2014. I aim for 1,000 per day because I know life will interfere at least a couple of times during those seven days.

Today’s interference comes from Daughter Three with probable strep throat and a trip to the doctor. College Girl goes to the dentist’s office tomorrow and the oral surgeon the next day. Saturday, there’s a wedding that will suck up half of the day. And don’t forget Christmas. The tree has lights on it and a cut-out star picture of Nicolas Cage. (Thank you, College Girl.)

5,000 a week is ambitious, but since it’s the first draft, I can write without listening to my inner editor. At least that’s what I tell myself. Sounds good, huh? Tell that to my inner editor; she’s screeching the entire time. I’m trying to drown her out with Pandora music.

Subconscious Writer v. Conscious Writer

ROW80LogocopyAnyway, the 1,000 words per day is hard for me. I know where the story is supposed to go, but getting the characters to do their part is more difficult. I told Daughter Three last night that it’s not the characters who are acting bad, it’s Subconscious Writer (SW) who keeps working on the story without telling Conscious Writer (CW) until it’s writing time.

SW interferes, whispers new lines to the characters, gives them unexpected attitudes, and otherwise messes with the script. Gah! Meanwhile, Conscious Writer–good girl that she is–is still trying to follow the original idea.

CW and SW can get along. At least that’s what I tell myself.

Sunday – Wednesday  PROGRESS:

  • Wednesday’s ROW80 check-in. DONE
  • Comment on other’s blogs. DONE
  • Draft Friday post for author blog by Wednesday. HALF DONE
  • Publish Part III on Christ’s Reflections. ALMOST READY
  • Draft a post for Christ’s Reflections blog for Monday. NOT DONE
  • Social media:
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present) YES
    • Twitter (3X/day) DONE
  • Critique for a member of my critique group on Monday. OOPS
  • Continue work on business plan. YES
  • Complete 2,500 words on WIP by Wednesday. 2,100 as of Noon, I should make it!

Thursday – Saturday GOALS:

  • Sunday’s ROW80 Check-in.
  • Comment on other’s blogs.
  • Complete the blog post for Friday and fire up another one for the following week.
  • Social media
    • Facebook (reconnect with people from my past and my present)
    • Twitter (3X/day)
  • Continue work on business plan for my new editing business.
  • Complete 5,000 words on WIP by Saturday.

Does your Subconscious Writer interfere with your plans?

5 thoughts on “20131218 ROW80 Check-in

  1. Congrats on the progress! And to answer your question: Yes, I do have a subconscious writer. I call her my Muse, and I listen to her because her ideas are far more interesting (and true) than whatever my conscious mind can come up with. There is some disagreement sometimes. For example, when I was writing my last novella, my SW said “That character is dead.” And I was like, “WHAT DO YOU MEAN HE’S DEAD?!? MY WHOLE CLIMAX REVOLVES AROUND HIM!” But my SW was all, “Nope. Sorry, he’s dead. You’ve gotta figure something else out.” After some sulking, I accepted my character’s fate and – despite my fears that it would not – the answer did come. And it all worked out for the best in the end.

    • I joke about the Moose who stands at my shoulder giving me judgmental looks. I agree, SW has great ideas, and we should listen to them. Thanks for your comments.

  2. I hope Daughter #3 has a speedy recovery and also, tell College Girl that the Nicholas Cage star is awesome.

    I like the idea of the Subconscious Writer being the ‘fun’ parent and the Conscious Writer being the parent who tries to make everybody follow the rules and eat their metaphorical broccoli.

Comments are closed.